Automate Insertion of YAST Installation Sources on Your openSUSE 10.2 Machine

14 01 2007

So how do we add them in YAST? Is there a way to add them via the command line? Is there any way to automatically add them? Is there a list somewhere of repositories to add?

I would like to take on the task of answering each of these questions.

Adding installation repositories in YAST

This process is relatively painless, outlined as follows:

Open YAST.

Type in your root password.

In the window that appears, click INSTALLATION SOURCE on the right.

In the window that appears, click ADD.

You are taken to another screen asking you what Media Type the new source is. Select the type (many times it will be FTP or HTTP). Click NEXT.

In the next screen, fill in the SERVER NAME, and DIRECTORY ON SERVER. Click NEXT.

You will see some progress dialog boxes popping up and going away as the new installation source is added.

When you are done, click on the FINISH button.

See? That isn’t so bad. It can get tedious, though, if you have lots of installation sources to add.

Adding installation repositories via Commandline

This process is way more painless than adding the installation sources through YAST, outlined here:

Open a terminal window. Become root with the ’su’ command:

$ su
Password: [Enter root password here]
#

The syntax for the command is:

rug service-add [URL] -type=ZYPP “[NAME OF REPO]”

To add an actual service, you’ll run a command like:

# rug service-add http://ftp.gwdg.de/pub/linux/misc/suser-guru/rpm/10.2/RPMS/ –type=ZYPP “Guru”

Adding installation repositories via Shell Script

I have put a bunch of repositories into a shell script. Remember, kids, that your mom always told you not to just randomly add installation sources. She didn’t? Well, she should have because it’s good advice. Because anyone can put anything into their repository, understand the following sentence: I make no guarantees that this shell script will not add a repository that will totally bork your system. That said, I have had no problems whatsoever with them. Because of this, I am providing this shell script for whoever wants it.

Download the script here

It will add a handful of installation sources for your shiny new openSUSE 10.2 system.

One strange thing…. when it adds the OSS repo, sometimes it will exit with a “Failed to parse XML metadata” error. If it does, just re-run the script. It will not put in duplicates, but it will likely add the OSS repo successfully. Also, this particular repo takes like 9,349 centuries (half an hour) to add in, so just kind of be patient with it.

Also, if you have nvidia or ATI, you may want to add the appropriate repository to the script.

What repository to add? From the lists below.

Lists of available repositories

Where are the lists of repositories?

Here is a link to the one on opensuse.org, called “Additional YaST Package Repositories.” What’s also interesting is that one of my articles published by Novell is one of the first things referenced on that page.

Here is a link to the list found on E@zyVG’s blog, called “openSUSE 10.2: The Most Complete List of Repositories.”

Again, do not just blindly add every repository you can find. That will very likely blow up your system. The ones in the shell script should work, but YMMV. Enjoy.

Share and Enjoy:

Source: http://linux.wordpress.com/ by E@zyVG

Actions

Information

22 responses

21 03 2010
Jamsheer AK

Hi sir,
Actually I need to Automate the VM installation and creation of VM and also load mysql on that VM following the performence test with mysql benchmark called sysbench.
can you give some instruction to Automate the above process?

Thanks in advance.

11 05 2010
mrnovell

Hello,

Which VM framework are you using, VMWare, VirtualBox?

2 12 2010
mrnovell

What type of VM Virtualzation are you using?, VMWare or something similar?

16 04 2013
Cash Money Goldmine bonus

When I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from
now on each time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment.
There has to be a means you are able to remove me from that service?
Thank you!

19 04 2013
popup domination 3.0 bonus

Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn. That is an
extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll
definitely return.

20 04 2013
watch new girl episode 4 hulu

hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances
times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage
your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective intriguing content.

Make sure you update this again soon.

21 04 2013
elite email marketing academy reivews

Can I simply say what a relief to discover someone that actually knows what they are talking about
on the web. You actually realize how to bring an issue to light and make
it important. More and more people ought to read this
and understand this side of your story. I can’t believe you are not more popular given that you certainly possess the gift.

21 04 2013
fast furious 6

Good day very nice website!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .
. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally? I am glad to find numerous helpful info right here within the submit, we need develop extra techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

24 04 2013
Leandra

There’s certainly a great deal to find out about this issue. I love all the points you made.

9 05 2013
list eruption bonus

I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and
amusing, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail
on the head. The problem is something that too few men and women are
speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I found this in my search for something regarding this.

9 07 2013
rocket italian review

Hello, after reading this amazing post i am too cheerful to share my familiarity
here with mates.

10 07 2013
custom made boat covers

Hello, this weekend is pleasant designed for me, for the reason that this point in time i am reading this fantastic educational piece
of writing here at my home.

18 10 2013
garcinia cambogia cleanser

After looking at a few of the blog posts on your web page, I truly appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon.
Please visit my website too and tell me how you feel.

25 01 2014
Staten Island Divorce Attorney

Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures
aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its
a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and
both show the same outcome.

6 08 2014
natural supplements for diet vs Obesity Drugs

Just desire to say your article is as astounding.
The clarity on your put up is just excellent and i could assume you’re an expert
in this subject. Well with your permission allow
me to clutch your RSS feed to stay up to date with impending post.
Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

8 08 2014
lipo g3 alli diet pills

Today, I went to the beachfront with my children.
I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic
but I had to tell someone!

8 08 2014
losing weight simple

Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you may
be a great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and may come back
later in life. I want to encourage that you continue your great job, have a
nice evening!

8 08 2014
garcinia trim side effects

Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this website needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the information!

10 08 2014
Jovita

This is really attention-grabbing, You’re a very skilled blogger.
I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to searching
for more of your fantastic post. Additionally, I’ve shared your
web site in my social networks

12 08 2014
weight loss pills

This article presents clear idea in support of the new visitors of blogging, that truly how to do running a blog.

18 08 2014
slim garcinia plus

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on restor slim garcinia cambogia reviews.
Regards

3 10 2014
potent weight loss

Undeniably imagine that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the web the easiest factor to keep in mind of.
I say to you, I certainly get annoyed at the same time as people consider worries that they plainly do not recognize about.
You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , folks
could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
Thanks

Leave a Reply

